Saturday, October 24, 2009

Award 9: The Etchy

By defintion, the Etchy Award goes to DC United's most valuable player. The winner of the award should be the player who United can least afford to live without, and who gives the team the best chance of winning. I'm going to present this award a bit differently because I want to give you more choices and less bias.

Last year's rightful winner was Jaime Moreno, whose 10 goals and 10 assists set him apart from the rest of the field. It's much harder to make an argument this season for any player to have set himself apart as much as Moreno did in 2008.

1. Jaime Moreno (8 goals, 3 assists, 23 games)
2. Christian Gomez (6, 4, 26)
3. Chris Pontius (4, 3, 22)
4. Santino Quaranta (2, 6, 22)
5. Ben Olsen (1, 1, 19)
6. Clyde Simms (0, 0, 27)
7. Dejan Jakovic (0, 0, 22)
8. Bryan Namoff (2, 4, 26)

Please enter your votes now through Monday, and remember to post in the comments section to be eligible for the exciting prizes that I announced last week.

Next up: The Benny - Who has been the best player on average this season, as tracked via this blog? Your chance for voting is done. This one is all on me!


Jeremy said...

Wow! The leading goal scorer doesn't even get a slot?!?

Jeremy said...

Does anyone else find it disturbing that the top two vote getters for MVP on a team that gave up 44 goals and had fans constantly bemoaning its horrible defending all year... are defenders.

If two members of what was a three man back line for most of the season were worthy of MVP consideration, shouldn't that back line have been good?

I voted for one of them too. I still find it disturbing.

Shatz... said...

I just couldn't see anyone voting for Emilio, so I didn't bother including him. Which is kinda sad...

rob said...

Anyone else think it could've been Quaranta, if he'd maintained his pre-call-up form? Which, obviously, he didn't.

So I voted for Namoff, because he is difficult to live without, as we've been learning (without the injury to Namoff, I'm pretty confident we're in the playoffs). But Jeremy's right that it's odd to vote for a defender on a team that lets in 44 goals (and my next choices would be Jakovic and Simms, also defensive players). Maybe the award should go to no one at all...